Brent Sears Memorial Fund

In 2010, Ray and Pat Sears worked with our Community Foundation and through the Peace Wapiti School Board No. 33 Education Foundation to honour the memory of their son Brent with the creation of the Brent Sears Memorial Fund.

Brent is remembered for this contribution to the community as a teacher, scientist, friend and neighbor.

The fund provides an award to a graduate of Sexsmith Secondary High School who is registered in a post-secondary education program. Priority goes to students in agriculture, education, or nursing.

Past recipients have been Justin Schlauwitz, Ryley Labant/Dreger, Katelynn Pedersen, Alyssa Krahn, Kristina de Boer, Mikayla Anderson and Axel Brett. 

You can make a difference in our community – not only for today but forever. When you make a donation to the Brent Sears Memorial, we invest that gift into a permanent endowment fund and the original gift is never spent. Earnings from your gift are distributed to a student award as described.  Donations can be made online here – or by calling the Community Foundation at (780) 538-2820.


2023 Vital
Impact Leaders

Thank You!

We are very proud of the continued relationships with the following community leaders. Partnerships with organizations that are dedicated to giving back to their local community ensure that your Northwestern Alberta Foundation can continue to build community. Please support those who support us!

"Rooted in Community" Official Tour Sponsor